Mommy’s Milk Out and About

August is National Breastfeeding Month! And it also happens that this month I am nearing the end of my seven year journey with breastfeeding my three children.

Breastfeeding is often a plan for expectant and new mothers, but there are so many aspects of breastfeeding a newborn that are unknown and cause for worry. It is truly one of those areas of parenting that you just cannot completely understand until you start!! One common fear and hurdle for breastfeeding mothers is where to do it and with whom you are comfortable doing it in front of.

Recently at bedtime while reading ‘Green Eggs and Ham’ by Dr. Seuss to my children I was acutely aware that the process of Sam resisting and eventually being willing to try the proposed meal and loving them when he finally did was not that dissimilar to my journey into the world of breastfeeding.

I knew I wanted to do it before I was a mom, and at first was very timid about where I did it, with whom I was willing to do it in front of and took great lengths to hide and cover-up the feeding process…but then as I got more comfortable with it, as the babies got more comfortable with it, I was willing to do it anywhere! Like anything, the more comfortable I got and the more my baby and I worked together at breastfeeding the more willing to feed him out and about I became. By my third round of breastfeeding there seemed to be no place off limits to feed my son!

Reading the list of places and people that Sam was not willing to eat Green Eggs and Ham made me laugh and catalogue the list of places and people I had eventually been willing to do it in front of:

So to mirror the story of Sam, from ‘Green Eggs and Ham’, here is my rendition:

Mommy’s Milk Out and About

I am mom

Mom I am

Would you breastfeed here or there

I would not could not breastfeed just anywhere …

I will only do it in a house

I will only do it at my house…

I would not, could not in a tree

Not in a car! You let me be

I could not in a box

I could not with a fox

I could not in someone else’s house

I could not with a mouse

I could not here or there

I could not do it just anywhere

I could not, would not, on a boat

I will not, will not, with a goat

I will not breastfeed in the rain

I will not breastfeed on a train

Not in the dark! Not in a tree!

Not in a car! You let me be!

I could not, Mom I am

 

Say! I can!

I can do it, Mom-I-am!

I have done it on a boat

I have done it near a goat

I have done it in the rain.

I have done it on a train.

I have done it in a box (well a tent)

I have done it with a fox (my foxy husband that is)

I have done it in a house

I have done it with a mouse (does Mickey Mouse count?)

I have done it in the car

I have done it near and far

I have done it in a tree (well, leaning against a tree)

And in the grass and sitting on a rock

At the park and concert too

And in my bed as a sleepyhead

In the mall and during fall

On a bench and beach chair

While eating dinner, while playing cards

Watching TV and drinking tea…

In a restaurant, at the movies too

There isn’t anywhere I wouldn’t try…

I even succeeded playing mini golf!

Would you, could you in the dark

Yes, yes I do it in the dark!

Would you do it here or there

Say! I will do it ANYWHERE!

Thank you, thank you

Mom-I-am

 

Leave a Reply

